The first war after independence and the men who shed blood in it

No narrative of the 1947-48 war will be complete without mentioning the gallant deeds of men like Major Somnath Sharma, Naik Jadunath Singh, L/Nk Karam Singh and CHM Piru Singh who were awarded Param Vir Chakra as well as Brig Rajinder Singh, and Brig Mohd Usman who were awarded the Maha Vir Chakra for their supreme acts of bravery, sacrifice and devotion to duty.